City Loyalty Ratings Explained

February 13, 2012 By: Watchertoo Category: General News

City Loyalty Ratings Explained

Kai Schober

13 Feb 2012 13:15:59 EST

For each city, each player character has individual ratings for Love, Hate, and Neutrality. These values are numeric and the raw values are not displayed.

  • Performing beneficial acts in a city causes the city to gain Love for that character
  • Performing negative acts in a city causes the city to gain Hate for that character
  • Any time a city gains Love for a character, a small fraction of the city’s Hate for that character is converted into Neutrality
  • Any time a city gains Hate for a character, and that city already had Love for that character, some of that Love is converted into Hate
  • Any time a city gains Love for a character, all other cities will convert some of their Love for that character into Neutrality.
  • Hate for a character decays at the slowest rate
  • Love for a character decays at a moderate rate
  • Neutrality for a character decays at a rapid rate

A character’s loyalty rating from a city consists of two parts: how well the character is known, and how “pure” the character’s actions are. There are essentially three possible outcomes:

  • If the character only performs beneficial actions for one city, the character gains positive ratings
  • If the character only performs harmful actions for one city, the character gains negative ratings
  • If the character performs a mixture of actions for a city, or performs beneficial actions for multiple cities, the character will tend to gain positive or negative ratings to a lesser degree or will gain distrustful ratings.

Here are all the possible ratings:

  • Tier 0
    • “Unknown” – this is the default rating and all characters will remain Unknown until they have taken several actions to modify their loyalty rating from the city
  • Tier 1
    • Positive: Commended
    • Neutral: Doubted
    • Negative: Disfavored
  • Tier 2
    • Positive:
      • Respected (most positive)
      • Esteemed
    • Neutral:
      • Distrusted
    • Negative
      • Disliked
      • Detested (most negative)
  • Tier 3
    • Positive
      • Adored (most positive)
      • Admired
      • Honored
    • Neutral
      • Disgraces
    • Negative
      • Loathed
      • Despised
      • Reviled (most negative)
  • Tier 4
    • Positive
      • Venerated (most positive)
      • Revered
      • Exalted
      • Lauded
    • Neutral
      • Denigrated
    • Negative
      • Scorned
      • Shunned
      • Vilified
      • Abhorred (most negative)

Notes about the system:

  • It is possible to shift a city’s favor slowly over time, but this is much more difficult for those with checkered pasts
  • Negative deeds are worth more hate than positive deeds are worth love
  • Negative deeds are remembered longer than positive ones
  • While the world is in chaos, all cities distrust each other. This is why trying to be devoted to multiple cities will just earn neutral ratings from all. However, this will not always be the case…

Discuss this article.

2 Comments to “City Loyalty Ratings Explained”

  1. Try using the search box top right sidebar to find what you need.

  2. Abbygaillynn says:

    OK, but what are the loyalties? How do you get them? Give an example of a “good” deed preformed in a city or a Bad one? and What is the POINT? Why should I care if I have a negative positive or neutral rating at all? I have spent 30 min trying to find info on the Town Loyalty and this site is so convoluted you can’t find anything. Great if you just want to do general reading but don’t try and find a spcific topic.